Over-Drive

8 o’clock.

While waiting for the train, I’ve zipped and unzipped my fanny-pack at least 124 times. The red line hasn’t been running well lately.

For the past 8 years, I’ve been a partner at… a business incubator of sorts.

This week I oversee the promotional materials for a new company, UtensExplo. We manufacture self-detonating forks. It’s amazing how exciting, yet painful, eating has become.

I get antsy doing one thing for too long, but that’s why I like my job – they shift us around quite a bit. Every week, and sometimes more, I am transferred to a new enterprise. Some people get sick of the lack of consistency, but I don’t.

Fuck. The zipper on my fanny-pack just broke.

I’m at work now.

“Hey Steve, you got those analytics on UtensExplo?”
Steve responded excitedly, “Oh. You haven’t heard? The boss just exported a new one! It’s transfer day, BABY!”

We high-fived.

This week I oversee the promotional materials for a new company, SantaPit. We are working on hybridizing the automobile and clothing industries to sell spaghetti & meatballs to the expanding market of Unemployed Librarians.

Shit. I spilt spaghetti sauce on my shirt.

5 o’clock.

While waiting for the train, I’ve buttoned and unbuttoned my shirt at least 46 times. The red line hasn’t been running well lately. Damn. I broke a button.

For the past 10 years, I’ve lived in Los Angeles. I have a dog, his name is Walt.

8 o’clock.

While waiting for the train, I like to look at the stains I’ve collected throughout the years on my shirt. The missing buttons. The broken zipper on my fanny pack.

This week I oversee the promotional materials for a new company, Yportne. We pioneer a reversal of entropy to make cozy home furnishing.

“Hey Steve, you got those analytics on Yportne?”
Steve responded excitedly, “Oh. You haven’t heard? The boss just exported a new one! It’s transfer day, BABY!”

We high-fived.

They are getting stranger. They seem to be a bit more frequent.

Leave a Reply

